Rampant Creativity

April 30, 2007

Tamara Blue – Thick Chicks

Filed under: Def Poetry Jam, Poetry, Spoken Word, Television, TV, Video, Videos, Youtube — Laya @ 7:06 am

Thick Chicks

God, I wish I still had cable.

For me, Def Poetry Jam is one of the best shows on television. I don’t love every poem and I don’t love every poet. But I love the spirit and creativity and humor and honest, heartfelt expression that everyone brings to the stage, whether they are a spoken word artist, an established traditional poet, or a celebrity guest. I like that they do it fairly simply and without the histrionics that sometimes accompany spoken word. Every show there’s at least one moment or one phrase or an entire poem that resonates for me – that I feel down to my core or that speaks to my reality. This video is one of those.

See also:

Tamara Blue‘s myspace

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.